Books to Read if You Like British Detectives

25 Mar 2016

Whether the Victorian era resident of 221 B Baker Street or the old woman from St. Mary Mead, there has always been something alluring about British detectives. Maybe its the sass they bring to their crime solving, or maybe its their interaction to the bustle of city life around them, but they are with out a doubt thrilling to watch in action. You could read Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie until you’ve exhausted their collections, but if you’re looking for more recent reads, here’s a list of books to read if you like British detectives. Not particular on your crime solvers nationality? Check out our Whodunit Mysteries post!

Books to Read if You Like British Detectives


London’s Glory

Christopher Fowler

Price: $7.99

Release Date: March 29, 2016

When it comes to curious cases, no one in London does better than Arthur Bryant and John May. In a number of cases, including a murderer in snow who leaves no footprints, an unfazed suspect, and suspicious passengers on a friend’s boat, Bryant and May sniff out the truth in their pursuit of justice.

When Falcons Fall

C.S. Harris

Release Date: March 1, 2016

Hoping to learn more of his heritage, Sebastian St. Cyr, Viscount Devlin, visits a peaceful town. But when a dead body shakes the locals, the magistrate asks for help. Discovering that the victim did not kill herself is only the beginning of a mystery that traces back to the French Emperor himself…


Home by Nightfall

Charles Finch

Release Date: November 10, 2015

When a well known pianist goes missing, the whole city of London is shocked by the puzzling disappearance. Charles Lenox has his magnifying glass over the matter when his desperate brother asks him to return to his childhood home in the country. But there are strange happenings in this area as well, and Charles can’t help but make connections and find clues to the identity of the culprit.

Rain Dogs

Adrian Mckinty

Release Date: March 8, 2016

Journalist Lily Bigelow’s suicide seems much too convenient, especially in the second locked room mystery of Detective Inspector Sean Duffy’s career. So what was she investigating that may have given motive to a murderer? Duffy’s about to find out.


Treachery at Lancaster Gate

Anne Perry

Release Date: March 22, 2016

Anarchists are quickly blamed for the explosion that took the lives of several policemen, but Special Branch commander Thomas Pitt has other suspects in mind. His investigation may reveal truths he’d prefer not to know, truths that lead to the high branches the aristocracy.

Even Dogs in the Wild

Ian Rankin

Release Date: January 19, 2016

The pressure is on when Detective Inspector Siobhan Clarke is tasked with investigating the death of government prosecutor David Minton. His colleagues want the culprit for a robbery gone wrong, but nothing is missing from Minton’s home. So what was the motive behind the murder?

This book is the third installment of the Cormoran Strike series.


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly.

share

Ben