Books to Read if You Like Orson Scott Card

13 Jun 2016

The writing of Orson Scott Card features all the best elements of science fiction novels. His most popular books, the Ender’s Series, are set in a dystopian future where mankind is pitted against an alien race of insect-like creatures. The series currently has 15 books with many awards to their name, and a 16th book is set to be released at the end of this summer. While waiting for The Swarm to come out, take a look at this list of books to read if you like Orson Scott Card to find another great science fiction book! If you’d like to explore more distant planets and futures, check out this list of Books to Read if You Like Philip K Dick!

Books to Read if You Like Orson Scott Card


51JmxP3shpL

Globes Disease

Lance Keeble

Release Date: April 29, 2016

Jodi and her friends suffer from Lycanthropy, a supernatural disease that makes them turn into wolves. They live in a small town called La Mort Douce, which is being attacked by other paranormal forces. Vampires are chasing them, and hunters are following their every footstep. The government is looking for a cure to their affliction, but no one knows if it’s actually going to work. In order to stay alive, the group must band together and fight like the animals they are.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

51QUznf0TsL

The Last Girl

Joe Hart

Release Date: May 19, 2016

When an epidemic sweeps the world and drastically reduces the female birthrate, scientists rush to figure out what might have caused this horrific problem. Twenty-five years go by without a cure, and the few women who survived are taken to a research compound to be studied. Zoey is one of these women, and she has been told her whole life that the rest of the world was wiped out by the epidemic. She wants to escape the clutches of her captors, but she has no idea what to expect when she gets beyond the walls. It might take all the strength that she has, but she is ready to fight.

Buy on Amazon

51JaRGTZGfL

The Drafter

Kim Harrison

Release Date: September 1, 2015

It’s the year 2030 in Detroit, and Peri Reed is on the run from a government that is trying to use her as a weapon. Peri is a drafter, which means that she can change time. She can’t, however, remember anything about the time that she altered. One day, Peri finds that she is on a list of corrupt operatives from the government, and her memory from the last three years has been obliterated. To get revenge and stay alive, Peri must team up with a rogue soldier to fight against the people who made her forget everything.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook


6105OpZLY9L

The City of Mirrors

Justin Cronin

Release Date: May 24, 2016

The City of Mirrors is the final installment in the thrilling Passage Trilogy. When the Twelve are finally gone and the reign of darkness is over, people are ready to start rebuilding society. But the things they fear are still alive in the world… The Father of the Twelve, Zero, is waiting to get revenge against Amy, who has proven herself to be humanity’s only hope. In one last battle, Amy and her friends will rise up against the dark forces that have been trying to destroy their world.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

41Ealq3EPaL

Arcadia

Iain Pears

Release Date: February 9, 2016

It is the 1960’s in Oxford, and Professor Henry Lytten is trying to write the next great fantasy novel. He becomes acquainted with his neighbor, Rosie, who has a never-ending sense of curiosity. One day, Rosie wandered into Professor Lytten’s cellar and found a doorway to a strange and unfamiliar fantasy world. She meets a man who is about to set off on a journey, and she hopes that he can bring her back home. Their adventures become intertwined with other stories in different worlds, which all seem to have an effect on one another.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

51oZtmNY2LL

Timebound

Rysa Walker

Release Date: January 1, 2014

Kate thought her grandmother was crazy when she gave her a blue medallion and spoke of time travel. However, her thoughts change when a past event affects her life in the present. Now Kate must travel back in time to the Chicago World’s Fair to stop a murder that altered her future. Messing with time may cost her the love of her life, but she has to save the future from destruction.

Buy on Amazon

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg