Books to Read if You Like Miss Marple

23 Aug 2016

Having sold billions of copies of her incredible crime novels, Agatha Christie is undoubtably the best-selling author of all time. One of her most notable and beloved characters is Miss Marple, an elderly woman who acts as an amateur detective. Many authors have taken inspiration from Miss Marple by writing mystery novels about amateur detectives and female sleuths. If you love Christie’s engaging characters, then you’ll enjoy these books to read if you like Miss Marple. Looking to read more cozy mysteries? Find them in our posts including Denise Grover Swank, Wannabe Sleuths, Female Sleuths, Culinary Twists, Cozy Mysteries, More Cozy MysteriesCozy Beach Reads, and Pool-side Reads.

Books to Read if You Like Miss Marple


 

Rambler

Linda S. Browning

Release Date: July 31, 2016

You thought life after retirement is boring? Think again. Leslie and Belinda are “senior sleuths” living in Fairlawn Glen, and they never say no to an adventure. While the two are taking a break and waiting for Belinda’s broken foot to heal, they discover another mystery that needs to be solved. The remains of an old car and a dead body were found while an old barn was being demolished, so Leslie and Belinda step up to figure out what happened.

Buy on Amazon

 

The Book Club Murders

Leslie Nagel

Release Date: September 27, 2016

Charley Carpenter is willing to do anything to make her vintage clothing store a success, even join an elite book club with some of the town’s most influential people. Suddenly, two women from the book club are found dead, and everyone is a suspect. Charley teams up with Detective Marcus Trenault in a race against the clock to find out who the killer is.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

 

Murder Offstage

L.B. Hathaway

Release Date: June 28, 2014

As a new detective in the 1920s, Posie is willing to take any case that she can get. When an old friend of hers is robbed and a jewel goes missing, Posie steps up to figure out what happened. She dives into the mysterious world of the London theatre and finds more danger than she anticipated. Can Posie figure out who Lucy Gibson is and who she killed?

Buy on Amazon

 

Murder at Redwood Cove

Janet Finsilver

Release Date: October 13, 2015

Kelly just started a new job as the manager of the Redwood Cove Bed and Breakfast in California, but it’s a tad bit creepy because she’s filling the job for a man who died. People thought that Bob Phillips lost his life by diving off a cliff, but Kelly and his retired friends think differently. While she and the Silver Sentinels start looking into the details of his death, things start to get much more dangerous than they thought.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

 

Unfinished Business

Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

Release Date: June 1, 2016

One night, Angela Panther wakes up to her mother complaining about chocolate bars that had been stolen from their house. She starts to think that her mother has gone mad, but she soon remembers that her mother just passed away. Now that the ghost of her mother has appeared to her, Angela has started to see visions of a bunch of different ghosts. She has enough troubles of her own, so she must learned to balance her life with the lives of all these restless spirits.

Buy on Amazon

 

Nine Lives

Wendy Corsi Staub

Release Date: October 26, 2015

Bella Jordan and her son Max are taking a road trip to return a lost cat to its rightful owner, Leona Gatto. But when they arrive, they find that Leona is dead and the inn that she runs is without a keeper. Bella steps up to help out at the inn, but she knows that something fishy is going on. She needs to solve the case and find the killer so that she and Max can return home to where they belong.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg