New Books like Paper Towns

24 Feb 2016

If you have never sat and cried through a John Green novel, we suggest you go do that before finishing this blog post. Seriously. Go. Right now. You can thank us later. When you have done that, you will find yourself exactly where we are: craving new books like Paper Towns and other John Green classics. These young adult romantic and emotional journeys have the ability to wrench your heart out and leave you a better person on the other end. It’s no wonder more than one John Green book has ended up as a bestseller, and we wouldn’t be surprised if we saw a few more films in the coming years. We’ve written before about authors like John Green, but in this post we want to give you a few suggestions for new books like Paper Towns. (Free advice: you might want to grab a tissue box or ten for some of these books).

New Books like Paper Towns


Dumplin’

Julie Murphy

Release Date: September 15, 2015

A story about identity and coming to terms with yourself, Dumplin’ tells the story of Willowdean who has never been self-conscious about her weight…until an insanely attractive boy is attracted to her. Fans looking for new books like Paper Towns will fall in love with the funny and compelling Willow in this romantic and clever novel.


Infinite in Between

Carolyn Mackler

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Five friends meet at freshman orientation. Four years later, they are as different as can be, but they keep a promise to find each other again after graduation. A beautiful story of teenagers walking through the highs, the lows, and the just plain middles of high school, readers who loved Paper Towns will not want to miss this chronicle by award-winning author Carolyn Mackler.


First & Then

Emma Mills

Release Date: October 13, 2015

First time author Emma Mills delivers a winner debut in this story of Devon, the girl who didn’t want to fall in love – but accidentally did anyway. If there are any lingering Jane Austen fans in the room, they will appreciate the references to her characters, but overall this is a lighthearted story about unexpected love for boys, family, and self.


Never Always Sometimes

Adi Alsaid

Release Date: August 4, 2015

For anyone who has ever fallen in love with a best friend, this book will hit home. These best friends had rules that they were never going to date, fall in love, or break any of their rules. Until they broke them. If you have been looking for new books like Paper Towns, look no further and curl up with this novel by Adi Alsaid.


I Crawl Through It

A.S. King

Release Date: September 22, 2015

In the middle of life’s anxieties, tragedies, and dangers, four teenagers find four different ways of coping in this beautiful story by A.S. King. You will laugh, cry, and be blown away as you read this surrealist picture of life as a modern teenager. John Green fans will find a new author to love in King.


Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between

Jennifer E. Smith

Release Date: September 1, 2015

One couple has one night to decide if they will say goodbye for good or goodbye for now. Curl up and get lost in this beautiful and bittersweet story of first love, perfect for fans looking for new books like Paper Towns. Jennifer Smith explores all the best (and hardest) parts of love in this novel about following your heart and your future.


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

elizabeth