Interview with J.W. Webb, author of Wolves and Assassins

04 Nov 2019

What can you tell us about your new release, Wolves and Assassins?

Wolves and Assassins is the concluding book in The Mercenary Trilogy, itself part of the Legends of Ansu–– an ongoing epic fantasy series that will appeal to fans of LOTR and Game of Thrones-style sagas. The novel features Corin an Fol a hard-nosed mercenary destined for greater things.

In this third adventure Corin is sent north by his boss to save a headstrong king from assassination. Things go pear-shaped when a woman from his past sets out to spoil his plans. The book blends myth and magic with strong character interaction, wry humor and fast paced brutal action. Like all 8 books in the series, Wolves and Assassins features beautiful sketches by a late Tolkien artist.

What books are currently on your nightstand?

River of Stars – Guy Gavriel Kay
Rogue Heroes – a history of the SAS in the desert – Ben Macintyre
The Highland Clans – Alistair Moffat
The Complete Book Of Shaolin – Wong Kiew Kit
The Broken Sword – Poul Anderson

What advice would you give your teenage self?

Worry less, smile more…

If you had an extra hour each day, how would you spend it?

Probably write more – or more time outdoors.

What makes your world go round? Why does it bring you joy?

Hearing from my readers and newsletter subscribers – some of the books are now on Audible and it’s been great to hear the positive feedback. We’re not on this planet very long – it’s nice to create something magical that other people can enjoy, a way of giving back for a blessed existence.

What scene in Wolves and Assassins was your favorite to write?

When Yazrana, his former lover catches up with Corin and knocks the crap out of him. Fun writing that scene. I enjoy penning character interaction, using relatable and empathic 3-dimensional players set to a fantastical backdrop of gods, war and mythic grandeur.

J.W. Webb is the author of the new book Wolves and Assassins.

Connect with J.W. Webb

 Author Page

Facebook

Buy The Book
Wolves and Assassins: A Legends of Ansu fantasy (Mercenary Trilogy Book 3)

Buy The Book

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books in your favorite genres weekly.

share

grant