If You Like Margaret Atwood Books, Read These

29 Sep 2015

It’s no secret – we love Margaret Atwood books. She has a new book out this week, and we’re excited about it. The NewInBooks team is made up of unabashed Atwood fans.

A few years ago, Chloe found out that I had never read The Handmaid’s Tale, the most famous book by Margaret Atwood. She gave me a stern look and a very firm deadline to read the acclaimed novel within a week. I’ve never looked back, and Margaret Atwood books will now hold a permanent spot on my shelves.

Margaret Atwood has a new book out this week, and to celebrate we’ve pulled together a book list of what to read if you love Margaret Atwood books and want to discover other authors like Margaret Atwood.

If You Like Margaret Atwood Books, Read These New Novels


 

Fates and Furies

Lauren Groff

Release Date: September 15, 2015

Why fans of Margaret Atwood books will like it: ambitious literary fiction, a literary exploration of marriage, will challenge the mind and the heart.

Purity

Jonathan Franzen

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Why fans of Margaret Atwood books will like it: satirical humor, political commentary, multi-layered subplots, themes of secrets and manipulation.


Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights

Salman Rushdie

Release Date: September 8, 2015

Why fans of Margaret Atwood books will like it: blends smart humor with intelligent literary themes, beautiful depictions of emotion.

Did You Ever Have A Family

Bill Clegg

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Why fans of Margaret Atwood books will like it: exploring tragedy, beautiful narrative, symbolism, quiet power.


Gold Fame Citrus

Claire Vaye Watkins

Release Date: September 29, 2015

Why fans of Margaret Atwood books will like it: surreal landscape, unsettling, complex language, dark themes, nuanced characters.

The Beautiful Bureaucrat

Helen Phillips

Release Date: August 11, 2015

Why fans of Margaret Atwood books will like it: wicked humor, exploration of uneasy questions, tense scenes, beautiful prose.


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Taylor

Taylor loves books with a heavy dose of absurdity, hilarity, and beautiful prose. She is a marketer, adventurer, nature-lover, Hufflepuff, wannabe world traveler, and advocate of laughter.