Books to Read if You Liked The Silent Wife

31 May 2016

In the theme of books like Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife is a stunning psychological thriller that will leave you questioning who the killer is until the last moment. Although these books can be a tad unsettling, it’s always fun to see if you can figure out the twist before the end of the book. Since The Silent Wife was published a couple of years ago, many similar new books have been released. If you like mind-bending psychological thrillers, take a look at our list of books to read if you liked The Silent Wife.

Books to Read if You Liked The Silent Wife


B01DTQCE0A cover image

Mirror Image

Michele Pariza Wacek

Release Date: May 27, 2016

Linda’s twin sister Elizabeth committed suicide six months ago, and she has finally figured out how to live a normal life with her other half gone. All of a sudden, a killer appears who looks exactly like Elizabeth, and things start to get a little strange. Detective Steve Anderson, who Linda used to have a crush on in high school, starts asking Linda very specific questions about the murders. She doesn’t know why he’s questioning her, but could she have something to do with the crimes even though she has no memory of doing anything wrong?

Buy on Amazon

B016A31ZWC cover image

The Light of the Fireflies

Paul Pen

Release Date: April 1, 2016

A young boy and his family have lived underground for many years, and members of the family were horribly disfigured in a fire. The boy doesn’t have much to do, so he spends most of his time reading books on insects and looking at the one ray of sunshine that sneaks through a crack on the ceiling. His sister just had a baby, and since then everyone has been acting very strange. Before this, the boy didn’t think to ask any questions about why they were hidden away from the outside world. Now, he’s curious and wants to escape.

Buy on Amazon

B013C5M08O cover image

The Fireman

Joe Hill

Release Date: May 17, 2016

A plague has started to spread across the United States, and no one knows where it came from. People colloquially refer to the disease as Dragonscale, since it marks its victims with black and gold marks and causes them to burst into flames. Harper Grayson is a sweet and compassionate nurse who treats many of the victims of Dragonscale, but she starts to see the black and gold flecks on her own skin. As the sickness spreads, her New England town erupts in chaos, and a ruthless squad sets out to kill anyone who may have the spore. A vigilante who calls himself the Fireman emerges from the terror to attempt to save the world.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook


B00TXY7HK0 cover image

The Prettiest One

James Hankins

Release Date: October 1, 2015

One night, Caitlin Sommers wakes up with bloodied clothes in the middle of a parking lot with no memory of what happened. She’s desperate to figure out the truth, but everything feels like a terrible dream. In order to find answers, Caitlin leaves the safety of her home and heads to a seedy, dangerous part of town. There she will discover terrible truths from her past, and they may be things that she’ll never be able to forget.

Buy on Amazon

B016ZNRC0Q cover image

The Butterfly Garden

Dot Hutchison

Release Date: June 1, 2016

There is an isolated mansion in the middle of nowhere where a madman called the Gardener captures young women and keeps them as his “specimens.” He calls these women his “butterflies,” and they have tattoos all over their bodies to remind them of their namesakes. The mansion is soon discovered, and FBI agents must try to piece together how something like this could have happened. Maya, a girl who was held captive by the Gardener, tells them her story, and it gets more and more complicated as they uncover the details.

Buy on Amazon

B00N43K3DO cover image

Never Smile at Strangers

Jennifer Jaynes

Release Date: January 27, 2015

Young Tiffany Perron is the first of many young women to disappear from Grand Trespass, Louisiana. The residents of the town are desperate to find the missing women, but they start to believe that they cannot trust the people around them. Every way you look, someone could be involved in the disappearances. After his mother was killed years ago, a young man is left completely scarred and is forced to take care of his crazy sister. He has been conditioned to fear and hate women, so is he the mastermind behind all the disappearances?

Buy on Amazon

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg