Books to Read if You Like Whodunit Mysteries

23 Mar 2016

Was it Colonel Mustard in the kitchen with the knife, or Mrs. Peacock in the ballroom with the candlestick? “Whodunit” mystery novels are just like a great game of Clue— you’ll be guessing who committed the crime up until the end. These mysteries and thrillers are perfect for readers who want to be taken on an exciting and unpredictable journey. If you’re ready to don your thinking cap and search for some clues, check out this list of books to read if you like whodunit mysteries. Prefer your crime solving protagonists to be from the UK? Check out our British Detectives post!

Books to Read if You Like Whodunit Mysteries


Heavenfield

LJ Ross

Price: $2.99

Release Date: March 4, 2016

A man is found dead at a remote church called Heavenfield, and the police have no idea who could have done it. Since DCI Ryan was the only other person around during the murder, he has to fight to clear his name. Suddenly, members of the mysterious “Circle” begin to die, and Ryan’s name is next on their hit list.

Mean Streak

Sandra Brown

Release Date: August 19, 2014

Dr. Emory Charbonneau has disappeared, and by the time her husband reported her missing, it became too cold to continue the search. Emory regains consciousness and finds herself being held captive by a violent man who won’t tell her his name. As the FBI continues to look into her case, they discover that Emory’s husband may not be telling the truth.


In a Dark, Dark Wood

Ruth Ware

Release Date: August 4, 2015

Leonora is a reclusive crime writer who rarely leaves her apartment. A friend she hasn’t talked to in years convinces her to take a trip out to the English countryside, but the trip isn’t as relaxing as it might seem. Nora unexpectedly wakes up in the hospital with injuries and the knowledge that someone has died, and she can’t help wondering if she has something to do with it.

X

Sue Grafton

Release Date: August 25, 2015

X is the 24th book in Grafton’s series about crime investigator Kinsey Millhone. This chilling addition takes place in 1989 and features a serial killer who leaves no trace of his crimes. Can Kinsey make a case against him before she becomes his next victim?


Black-Eyed Susans

Julia Heaberlin

Release Date: August 11, 2015

Nearly two decades ago, Tessa Cartwright was found in a field of wild flowers nearly dead. She was the last surviving “Black-Eyed Susan,” which were the murder victims of a rabid serial killer. Years later, she was shocked to find a patch of these wild flowers outside her window, leading her to think that she helped convict the wrong man. Now Tessa is forced to confront the ghosts of her past and discover what really happened on that night.

Career of Evil

Robert Galbraith

Release Date: October 20, 2015

When Cormoran Strike’s partner received a severed leg in the mail, he wasn’t surprised. He knows of four people in his past who could have committed such a brutal crime. When the police start to focus on the wrong suspect, Cormoran and his partner must take matters into their own hands.

This book is the third installment of the Cormoran Strike series.


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg