Books to Read if You Like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

05 Apr 2016

Even if you’ve never read The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson, you’ve definitely heard of it. As a crime thriller series, the Millennium Trilogy has received critical acclaim all over the world. It’s also been adapted to film both in Sweden (arguably the better of the two adaptations) and the US. Although the series has ended, there are many other crime thrillers (and, surprisingly, more Swedish crime thrillers) out there for you to love! Hopefully you can find a great new read on this list of books to read if you like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.

Books to Read if You Like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo


The Father

Anton Svensson

Release Date: April 5, 2016

This book is inspired by the true story of three Swedish brothers who robbed ten banks in the course of two years. None of them had ever committed a crime before, so this feat changed their lives forever.

Midnight in Malmö

Torquil MacLeod

Release Date: February 26, 2015

Two separate murder investigations interrupted Inspector Anita Sundström’s summer away and dragged her back to Malmö. The deaths were seemingly unconnected— a young woman from Switzerland was stabbed and a highly respected diplomat apparently committed suicide. But everything begins at Midnight at Malmö…


The God’s Eye View

Barry Eisler

Release Date: February 2, 2016

Evelyn Gallagher, an employee at the NSA, simply wants to keep her head down and do her work. That is, until she discovers the God’s Eye program that is linked to the deaths of a string of journalists and whistle-blowers. Now that she knows this sensitive information, she must use her training to avoid the wrath of a pair of lethal government assassins.

The Cartel

Don Winslow

Release Date: June 23, 2015

DEA agent Art Keller has been trying to stop the war on drugs for years, and all of his sacrifices have impacted his life greatly. When a man who he worked hard to put in jail escapes, Keller stands up to protect all he’s worked for. Can he keep the ruthless cartel from gaining power again?


The Silence of the Sea

Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Release Date: February 16, 2016

One day, a luxury yacht crashed onto the Reykjavik Pier with no one aboard. The people who found the boat are left with countless unanswered questions: where are the people who were on this yacht when it left Lisbon? And what about their crew? Thora Gudmunddsdottir, the series sleuth, must attempt to answer these questions and more.

Midnight Sun

Jo Nesbø

Release Date: February 16, 2016

After betraying one of the most notorious drug lords in Olso, Ulf must run for his life. He flees to Norway’s far northeastern border and tells the villagers of a small town that he’s there to hunt. Will Ulf be able to evade the wrath of the Fisherman, or will he become another one of his unlucky victims?


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg