Books to Read if You Like Philippa Gregory

25 Apr 2016

Colloquially referred to as the “queen of royal fiction,” Philippa Gregory is a historical novelist who primarily writes stories centered around the Tudor period of the 16th century. Her most notable work is The Other Boleyn Girl, which won the 2002 Romantic Novel of the Year Award and was turned into two separate movies. Some of her other works have been adapted into various forms of media, such as a BBC television series. Her newest book, The Taming of the Queen, received ample praise from critics all around the world. If you’re a history buff with a bit of a romantic streak, we have great book recommendations for you! Check out this list of books to read if you like Philippa Gregory.

Books to Read if You Like Philippa Gregory


B01CRQK572 cover image

The Falcon Rises

M.L. Bullock

Release Date: March 9, 2016

This novel details the rise of Queen Nefertiti, and it is the second book in the Desert Queen series. When Nefret takes her people back to their homeland, everything changes. She is forced to make a decision that will take her away from her tribe and the man she loves. When she takes her place at the Egyptian Court in Thebes, she finds that she has a new enemy realizes that she’ll have to fight for her place at Amenhotep’s side.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00ORBNEQU cover image

The Wedding Shroud

Elisabeth Storrs

Release Date: February 25, 2016

It’s 406 BC, and Caecilia is set to get married to Vel Mastarna, an Etruscan nobleman from Veii. She wants to remain true to her Roman virtues, but she is tempted by the independence and freedom that the Etruscan woman are given. Caecilia is torn between her roots and her new home, and she must choose where her allegiance lies.

Buy on Amazon

B00VOLHKHU cover image

Daughter of Sand and Stone

Libbie Hawker

Release Date: December 1, 2015

Zenobia is the daughter of a Syrian sheikh, but she does not want to marry against her will. When her father dies, she arranges her own marriage with the most powerful man in all of Palmyra. His other wife is not pleased with this, especially when Zenobia gives birth to his son. In this story, Zenobia must fight for power, love, her son, and her place as the Empress of the East.

Buy on Amazon


B00DA734SA cover image

Hild

Nicola Griffith

Release Date: November 12, 2013

Hild is the king’s youngest niece, and they live in a time of violence and turbulent change. As her uncle ruthlessly fights to become the overking of the Angles, Hild works at his side as his seer. She proves herself to be indispensable, but she can’t ever lose the king’s ashtray if they want to continue to succeed. So much is at stake for Hild, as many people are relying on her to read the world and see the future.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook BookBuy iBook

B012H0ZTJC cover image

Bathsheba

Angela Hunt

Release Date: August 25, 2015

When he gets a promise from God of a lifelong reign, King David forces himself onto Bathsheba. She is currently a loyal soldier’s wife, but when she becomes pregnant with King David’s baby, he kills the soldier and adds Bathsheba to his harem. She fights to protect her son and deal with the deadly curse that is placed upon her new household.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00IFV9AXY cover image

Transendence

Shay Savage

Release Date: February 13, 2014

Ehd is a caveman, but that doesn’t mean he’s unintelligent. He’s been alone most of his life, so when he finds a young woman in his pit trap, he assumes that she must be his mate. Elizabeth, the young woman in question, has no idea how she fell into the pit. Although they can’t quite understand each other, Ehd and Elizabeth develop a love that transcends language and time.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg