Books To Read If You Like Literary Fiction | Fall 2017

26 Oct 2017

Is your reading list in need of something a little more interesting? Are your typical Mystery, Romance or Fantasy books not cutting it? Then a few literary fiction novels might be just what you are looking for! These latest thought-provoking releases will have you frantically turning pages from cover-to-cover. Our list includes new release books from bestselling authors J. J. Hebert, Joshua Max Feldman, Francesca Hornak, Amulya Malladi, Greg Ames and even Oscar-winning actor Tom Hanks!

Books To Read If You Like Literary Fiction | Fall 2017



The Backwards K

J. J. Hebert

Release Date: October 8, 2017

The only thing Jet Brine has ever been good at is baseball. Well, that and slot machines. But when his moment to shine came at the bottom of the ninth, in game seven of the World Series, Jet struck out without swinging. Now he’s stuck in a cubicle, haunted by the ghosts of a marriage cut short, and dragging around the remains of his baseball career in a duffle bag. Then he meets Linda and it seems things might be turning around at last.

Buy on Amazon

Start Without Me

Joshua Max Feldman

Release Date: October 17, 2017

Former musician and recovering alcoholic, Adam, is home for Thanksgiving for the first time in years. Surrounded by his parents and siblings, nieces and nephews—he can’t shake the feeling that he’ll always be the one who can’t get it right. Marissa is a flight attendant with a strained marriage. To make things worse, she finds out she is pregnant from a one night stand. The two meet in an airport on Thanksgiving morning and form an unlikely bond.

Buy on AmazonBuy on NookBuy on iBooks

Uncommon Type

Tom Hanks

Release Date: October 17, 2017

Two-time Oscar winner Tom Hanks has demonstrated his writing skills with the release of Uncommon Type, a collection of 17 short stories. From an Eastern European Immigrant whose life was torn apart by civil war to a man who bowls the perfect game, over and over again, becoming an overnight celebrity. These plus many more surprising, intelligent and heartwarming tales await.

Buy on AmazonBuy on NookBuy on iBooks


Seven Days of Us

Francesca Hornak

Release Date: October 17, 2017

For the first time in many years, the entire Birch family will be under one roof. Even Emma and Andrew’s elder daughter will be joining them for Christmas at Weyfield Hall, their aging country estate. But Olivia, a doctor, is only coming home because she has to. Having returned from treating an epidemic abroad, she must stay in quarantine for a week… and that means the family must too.

Buy on AmazonBuy on NookBuy on iBooks

The Copenhagen Affair

Amulya Malladi

Release Date: September 26, 2017

Sanya was always the perfect wife, but after a breakdown, her husband Harry has to step up. His proposal? A temporary move to Copenhagen. He needs to be there for a business deal and thinks the change of scenery will help. Soon Sanya goes from hiding under her duvet to hiding in plain sight—a dark-skinned Indian American in a city of blondes.

Buy on Amazon


Funeral Platter

Greg Ames

Release Date: October 24, 2017

From the author of the bestselling Buffalo Lockjaw, comes a humorous and heartbreaking short story collection. It follows everything from a young aspiring ventriliquist, to a lighthearted retired couple that stage their own funeral, and a young man that keeps his parents caged in the backyard. The stories have moments of violence and tenderness, and are aimed at highlighting the perversity of human love.

Buy on Amazon

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

grant