Books to Read if You Like Downton Abbey

26 Feb 2016

For several years now, Downton Abbey has been a source of obsession for lovers of sophisticated, historical sagas. With an elaborate set, elegant costumes, posh British accents, and drama aplenty, this masterpiece of British theater commences its final season in 2016. While it is not based on a book, many people are searching for books like Downton Abbey to tide them over in between seasons. If you too are looking for books to read if you like Downton Abbey, look no further! Like the heat turned up a bit more on your historical romances? Check out this post.

Books to Read if You Like Downton Abbey


When It Rained at Hembry Castle

Meredith Allard

Release Date: January 27, 2016

Set in Victorian England, When It Rained at Hembry Castle follows Richard as he attempts to handle running Hembry Castle after his father’s death. It also follows the love story of Edward and Daphne, who are trying to be together despite the obstacles at Hembry.

Coal River

Ellen Marie Wiseman

Release Date: November 24, 2015

For those who love the strong female characters in Downton Abbey, Coal River tells the story of a young woman named Emma who sets out to end child labor in a mining town. Fiery and determined, Emma brings to life this historical novel by bestselling author of What She Left Behind.


We That Are Left

Clare Clark

Release Date: October 13, 2015

Clare Clark weaves a breathtaking tale of a complicated family in the early 1900s that surely must be considered one of our books like Downton Abbey. The Melvilles will keep you company when the Crawleys are unavailable as you follow their family dynamics through the Great War and all its changes.

White Collar Girl

Renée Rosen

Release Date: November 3, 2015

Chicago in the 1950s was no place for a woman journalist, but Jordan Walsh didn’t care. Bestselling author Renée Rosen blends a story of an ambitious young woman with romance, drama, and mystery. It’s the perfect mix if you are looking for books to read if you like Downton Abbey.


The Forgotten Room

Karen White, Beatriz Williams, & Lauren Willig

Release Date: January 19, 2016

Three bestselling storytellers join forces in The Forgotten Room to craft a tale that spans multiple time periods. One woman tries to unravel a mystery that involves three different generations of women in her family in this love story – perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.

The Stargazer’s Sister

Carrie Brown

Release Date: January 19, 2016

Set in the nineteenth century, The Stargazer’s Sister is a tale of gratitude, indebtedness, empowerment, and all the complexity in between. This new release from award-winning author Carrie Brown is just what people looking for books like Downton Abbey need.


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

elizabeth