Books like Percy Jackson: New Books to Read

14 Dec 2015

Percy Jackson books have been enthralling young (and young at heart) readers for years now. We don’t know if it’s the unlikely and misunderstood hero, the whole modern gods-on-earth thing, or the good versus evil action,  but we love it and we know a lot of you do too. Without further ado, here are some highly recommended books like Percy Jackson.

Books like Percy Jackson: New Books to Read


The Boy Who Fell from the Sky

Jule Owen

Release Date: September 9, 2015

In this introduction to a new series, Jule Owen catapults readers forward into the future. Similar to the Percy Jackson series, a young protagonist must save the world in this action packed story. While it’s more dystopian than fantasy, you will find yourself rooting for teenage Mathew in the same way you root for young Percy.

Timesurfers

Rhonda Sermon

Release Date: September 28, 2015

A young hero must discover her powers and fight the impending evil in the world in this young adult science fiction and fantasy intro to the new Timesurfers series. Watch as the young protagonist is swept up into an entirely atypical teenage problem when she finds that she has more abilities than a typical teenager.


Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

Rick Riordan

Release Date: October 6, 2015

Drop everything and chase (see what we did there?) after this new book by Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series. His new series meddles with Norse Mythology and we recognize some of the very things we loved about the Percy Jackson books when we meet the new protagonist: Magnus Chase.

The Tournament at Gorlan

John Flanagan

Release Date: October 6, 2015

This prequel to the Ranger’s Apprentice series is chop full of fantasy, adventure, and  characters that draw you in just like the Percy Jackson books.


The Game of Lives

James Dashner

Release Date: November 17, 2015

The Game of Lives features a young male protagonist, life-threatening danger, action and adventure, and young people defying authority (in a good way) and saving the world. Plus, this author also wrote the Maze Runner, so if you liked that series, definitely check this one out.

The Girl at the Center of the World

Austin Aslan

Release Date: August 4, 2015

One girl is called upon to save the world in this sequel to The Islands at the End of the World.  Qualities that she has always  considered to be weakness make her the most important person in a world crisis, and she has to figure out just how she should respond.


(For fans of young adult literature, check out our posts about other young adult books to read like Divergent, Hunger Games, and The Selection).

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

elizabeth