Books Like Outlander: New Reads for 2015

19 Oct 2015

An open note to my little teenage godsister: In about five years, remind me to tell you about Diana Gabaldon. As soon as you read the Outlander books, you’re going to be starving for books like Outlander. At least that’s what happened to me.

Diana Gabaldon is just as much of a household name in my family as Janet Evanovich. The only difference? I wasn’t allowed to read the Outlander books when I was younger. For good reason – Jamie and Claire get up to some steamy shenanigans.

The Outlander books are long, so they’ll keep you entertained for many hours, but eventually you’ll run out of Fraser fun and will need book similar to Outlander. We’ve rounded up the best new book releases to read if you’re in the mood for books like Outlander. Literary fiction, historical fiction, Scottish lads, time traveling heroines, love stories – we’ve covered it all.

Books like Outlander: The Best Books to Read for 2015


To Catch a Falling Star

Anna Belfrage

Release Date: March 1, 2015

Why fans of the Outlander books will like it: time travelling heroine, seventeenth century Scottish setting, beautiful love story

The Sisters of Versailles

Sally Christie

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Why fans of the Outlander books will like it: set in Louis XV’s France, female protagonists, based on historical fact


Wild Wood

Posie Graeme-Evans

Release Date: March 3, 2015

Why fans of the Outlander books will like it: Scottish setting, modern woman teasing out the past, love story

The Forgotten Room

Karen White, Lauren Willig, Beatriz Williams

Release Date: January 19, 2016

Why fans of the Outlander books will like it: alternate time periods, bestselling authors, powerful love story, historical fiction


The Gilded Hour

Sara Donati

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Why fans of the Outlander books will like it: female protagonist, themes of the past butting up against new love, historical fition.

Finding Fraser

KC Dyer

Release Date: May 15, 2015

Why fans of the Outlander books will like it: it’s a story about a girl who wants her own Jamie Fraser! It’s the perfect companion read for people who love Outlander.


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Taylor

Taylor loves books with a heavy dose of absurdity, hilarity, and beautiful prose. She is a marketer, adventurer, nature-lover, Hufflepuff, wannabe world traveler, and advocate of laughter.