The 4 Best Alice in Wonderland Inspired Books

03 Aug 2015

Alice in Wonderland is near and dear to many reader’s hearts. A classic tale of adventure, magic, and madness, the original story has seen a resurgence in popularity in recent years, ever since Tim Burton’s twisted movie edition hit screens big as small in 2010. Keep reading for some of our favorite trips into Wonderland.


Aliceinwonderland

Brand new this week (Penguin: August 4th, 2015), Alice by Christina Henry is a whirlwind tale of dark fantasy featuring all of the main characters from Wonderland… with a twist. In Alice readers follow Alice, once a good girl from the pristine New City, as she breaks out of an insane asylum in the lawless Old City and hunts down the Jabberwock. A tale overflowing with corruption, violence, and, of course, magic, Alice crafts a Wonderland for adult audiences that is even more mind-bending than the original. 


This list would not be complete without Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter. Book one of the White Rabbit Chronicles, and best selling YA read, Alice in Zombieland is perfect for fans of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. 


In Splintered by A.G. Howard Alyssa Gardner, the descendent of the original Alice, must venture back into Wonderland, a place more dark and terrifying than Lewis Carol every portrayed, in order to save her family. 


The Looking Glass Wars is a best selling sword and sorcery approach to Wonderland. In this retelling Alyss is the heir to the throne of Wonderland until her parents are murdered by her wicked aunt Redd. A trilogy, the Looking Glass Wars follows Alyss as she tries to stay alive and retake the throne.


Bonus Recommendation:

If you enjoys watching your Wonderlands as much as you enjoy reading them, don’t forgetto watch Malice in Wonderland (Film: Released 2009), a modern day remake of the classic tale, following Alice, an American Law student studying in London, who gets hit by a car, only to awake with amnesia in Wonderland. Follow this adult Alice as she works to remember who she is and how to get home.


Which is your favorite Wonderland? Let us know on Twitter @newinbooks or on Instagram @newinbooks.

share

Chloe

Chloe is a Professional Book Nerd. She loves big words, big books, big dogs, and big adventures.