New Books like Ready Player One

04 Nov 2015

SciFi adventure fans – get excited. We put together a list of books like ready player one (all released in 2015) so that you can get your scifi-adventure-video-game-nostalgia reading time on. I know that I, for one, LOVED the Ready Player One book and can’t wait for the movie. We’ve scoured the web to bring you this list of books like Ready Player One – and we don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Also check out our list of books to read if you like The Martian!

New Books like Ready Player One: Reading List for 2015 / 2016


Armada

Ernest Cline

Release Date: July 14, 2015

Why Armada is like Ready Player One: this book is another scifi adventure by the same author! Armada is a little more YA than Ready Player One, but fans will find a lot to love in Cline’s new release.

Armada

Seveneves

Neal Stephenson (read what we thought about Seveneves here)

Release Date: August 25, 2015

Why Seveneves is like Ready Player One: think less pop culture, more science, but similar amounts of suspense and character building. Seveneves is an awesome space adventure that you don’t want to miss.


An Unwelcome Quest

Scott Meyer

Release Date: February 10, 2015

Why An Unwelcome Quest is like Ready Player One: this book is the third in Scott Meyer’s bestselling Magic 2.0 series. It captures the fun and joy of virtual reality that readers of Ready Player One loved. Start the series here.

The Bathrobe Knight

Charles Dean

Release Date: June 20, 2015

Why The Bathrobe Knight is like Ready Player One: The Bathrobe Knight stars a video-game addict caught in virtual reality…. that somehow isn’t so virtual. It’s a great fun read for people who loved the gaming aspect of Ready Player One.


Alive

Scott Sigler

Release Date: July 14, 2015

Why Alive is like Ready Player One: if you liked the YA scifi adventure aspect of Ready Player One, this is the book for you. Alive features a young protagonist in a truly dystopian atmosphere… and a fight for survival.

Press Start to Play

Daniel H. Wilson, John Joseph Adams

Release Date: August 18, 2015

Why Press Start to Play is like Ready Player One: it’s a book of short stories about what happens when scifi and gaming collide. Ernie Cline wrote the intro. Andy Weir wrote one of the stories. Whyever would you NOT buy this one?


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Taylor

Taylor loves books with a heavy dose of absurdity, hilarity, and beautiful prose. She is a marketer, adventurer, nature-lover, Hufflepuff, wannabe world traveler, and advocate of laughter.