Must-Read Mystery Books | September 2021

16 Sep 2021

Must-Read Mystery Books | September 2021

Are you in the mood for an exhilarating new mystery book to escape in? This month we have seen a host of wonderful new novels and here are our latest recommendations from bestselling authors Lee Chappel, Valerie Davisson, Stuart Neville, Denise Mina, Mike Lupica, and J. D. Robb. Enjoy your new mysteries!


Crickets

by Lee Chappel

Release Date: September 13, 2021

A San Francisco Book Review and Midwest Book Review acclaimed novel by Lee Chappel…When her father passes away unexpectedly, Kara’s forced to return to Paige. It should be a safe little town, especially for the daughter of its favorite sheriff, but something’s not right with Kara’s memories. There are times that have gone missing. In fact, there are more and more of them the longer she stays in town. Maybe it’s her hometown getting to her. Or maybe it’s just him…

Buy on Amazon

Whisper Creek

by Valerie Davisson

Release Date: September 14, 2021

Book 7 of the Logan McKenna Series by Valerie Davisson…One murder. Four suspects. Endless motives. Can Logan untangle a web of lies before the bodies start piling up? Whisper Creek is the thrilling seventh book in the Logan McKenna Mystery series. If you like dynamic heroines, page-turning suspense, and satisfying twist endings, then you’ll love Valerie Davisson’s danger-laden tale.

Buy on Amazon

The House of Ashes

by Stuart Neville

Release Date: September 7, 2021

“A gut-wrenching novel of psychological suspense” (Publishers Weekly) by Stuart Neville…Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Tana French, a chilling story of a Northern Irish murder sixty years buried. Through the counterpoint voices—one modern Englishwoman, one Northern Irish farmgirl speaking from half a century earlier—Stuart Neville offers a chilling and gorgeous portrait of violence and resilience in this truly haunting narrative.

Buy on Amazon

Rizzio

by Denise Mina

Release Date: September 7, 2021

From the multi-award-winning master of crime, Denise Mina delivers a radical new take on one of the darkest episodes in Scottish history—the bloody assassination of David Rizzo private secretary to Mary, Queen of Scots, in the queen’s chambers in Holyrood Palace. A dark tale of sex, secrets, and lies, Rizzio looks at a shocking historical murder through a modern lens—and explores the lengths that men and women will go to in their search for love and power.

Buy on Amazon

Robert B. Parker’s Stone’s Throw

by Mike Lupica

Release Date: September 7, 2021

The newest novel in the Jesse Stone mystery series by Mike Lupica…The town of Paradise receives a tragic shock when the mayor is discovered dead, his body lying in a shallow grave on a property on the lake. It’s ostensibly suicide, but Jesse’s has his doubts, especially because the piece of land where the man was found is the subject of a contentious and dodgy land deal.

Buy on Amazon

Forgotten in Death

by J. D. Robb

Release Date: September 7, 2021

In the latest novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling series, by J.D. Robb, homicide detective Eve Dallas sifts through the wreckage of the past to find a killer…The body was left in a dumpster like so much trash, the victim a woman of no fixed address, known for offering paper flowers in return for spare change—and for keeping the cops informed of any infractions she witnessed on the street. But the notebook where she scribbled her intel on litterers and other such offenders is nowhere to be found.

Buy on Amazon

share

rebecca