Literary Fiction Books for Your TBR List | September 2021

02 Sep 2021

Literary Fiction Books for Your TBR List | September 2021

Attention literary lovers! We have new fiction recommendations you should add to your to-be-read list as soon as possible! Enjoy these books from bestselling authors Matt McMahon, Brad Schaeffer, Lynda Rutledge, Sumana Roy, Amy Lynn Green, David Grossman, and Becca Spence Dobias. Happy reading!


Species of One

by Matt McMahon

Release Date: July 16, 2021

A 5-star Reader’s Favorite novel by bestselling author Matt McMahon…Good-hearted loner Phil Kyle leaves his successful career for an isolated mountain cabin after reading a mysterious passage online. Phil makes some tentative friendships in the mountains and a few enemies. Between internal and external skirmishes, he meets sages from the Himalayas, rescues damsels in distress, soars among the clouds, and falls in love — all within forty miles of his cabin. After a violent incident exposes his dark past, Phil can no longer ignore the powerful voices that dictated his life. Deep bonds he has formed with friends and enemies help guide him when an unthinkable tragedy threatens to plunge Phil into hellish forever isolation. Seeing truth as a potent cure that can be more dangerous than any evil, Phil fears he can’t stand up to his truth.

Buy on Amazon

The Extraordinary

by Brad Schaeffer

Release Date: August 31, 2021

From the acclaimed writer featured on The Wall Street Journal, New York Daily News, National Review, and Daily Wire comes an incredible new novel…Wes Scott, a teenage boy on the autism spectrum, tells us in his own words about his struggles to cope with a chaotic, confusing, and scary world—while his family tries to handle both living with an autistic child and a Marine father who returns from Iraq debilitated by wounds and suffering PTSD.

Buy on Amazon

How I Became a Tree

by Sumana Roy

Release Date: August 31, 2021

A beautiful, meditative new novel from Sumana Roy…An exquisite, lovingly crafted meditation on plants, trees, and our place in the natural world, in the tradition of Robin Wall Kimmerer’s Braiding Sweetgrass and Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. Hailed upon its original publication in India as “a love song to plants and trees” and “an ode toall that is unnoticed, ill, neglected, and yet resilient,” How I Became a Tree blends literary history, theology, philosophy, botany, and more, and ultimately prompts readers to slow down and to imagine a reenchanted world in which humans live more like trees.

Buy on Amazon

The Lines Between Us

by Amy Lynn Green

Release Date: August 31, 2021

A WWII novel of courage and conviction, based on the true experience of the men who fought fires as conscientious objectors and the women who fought prejudice to serve in the Women’s Army Corps…Since the attack on Pearl Harbor, Gordon Hooper and his buddy Jack Armitage have stuck to their values as conscientious objectors. Much to their families’ and country’s chagrin, they volunteer as smokejumpers rather than enlisting, parachuting into and extinguishing raging wildfires in Oregon. But the number of winter blazes they’re called to seems suspiciously high, and when an accident leaves Jack badly injured, Gordon realizes the facts don’t add up.

Buy on Amazon

More Than I Love My Life

by David Grossman

Release Date: August 24, 2021

A remarkable novel of suffering, love, and healing—the story of three generations of women on an unlikely journey to a Croatian island and a secret that needs to be told—from the internationally best-selling author of To the End of the Land. …More Than I Love My Life was inspired by the true story of one of David Grossman’s longtime confidantes, a woman who, in the early 1950s, was held on the notorious Goli Otok (“the Adriatic Alcatraz”). With flashbacks to the stalwart Vera protecting what was most precious on the wretched rock where she was held, and Grossman’s fearless examination of the human heart, this swift novel is a thrilling addition to the oeuvre of one of our greatest living novelists, whose revered moral voice continues to resonate around the world.

Buy on Amazon

On Home

by Becca Spence Dobias

Release Date: August 31, 2021

A fascinating new novel by critically-acclaimed author Becca Spence Dobias…When tragedy strikes, Cassidy, a cam girl living in Southern California, must return to the small West Virginia town she left behind. As Cassidy’s story unfolds, we glimpse into the lives of the strong, complicated women who came before her: Jane, the sheltered daughter of farmers, escapes West Virginia for Washington, DC to work as a Government Girl for the FBI during World War II, until a fateful mistake threatens her future. Paloma, a Fulbright Scholar, journeys to newly Westernized Prague—only to fall for an idealistic but safe man from West Virginia. Though worlds and generations apart, all three search for meaning as they face impending motherhood and the pull to return home to rural Appalachia.

Buy on Amazon

West with Giraffes

by Lynda Rutledge

Release Date: February 1, 2021

An instant bestseller from Lynda Rutledge…An emotional, rousing novel inspired by the incredible true story of two giraffes who made headlines and won the hearts of Depression-era America. Part adventure, part historical saga, and part coming-of-age love story, West with Giraffes explores what it means to be changed by the grace of animals, the kindness of strangers, the passing of time, and a story told before it’s too late.

Buy on Amazon

share

rebecca