Books to Read If You Like WWII Historical Fiction

24 Feb 2016

As major events occur throughout history, people leave behind many stunning stories for future generations. From tales of overcoming adversity, to triumphs of war, reading about world history is sure to keep you engaged and inspired. The events during World War II have inspired many authors to write the stories of people from all around the world and what they experienced during this difficult time. If you’re ready to see the world through someone else’s eyes, we recommend these books to read if you like WWII historical fiction. If your passion for historical fiction stretches beyond WWII, you might also like this post. If you like your history with a little suspense, check out this post.

Books to Read If You Like WWII Historical Fiction


Under the Pong Pong Tree

Hal Levey

Price: Only $3.99!

Release Date: November 24, 2015

In Singapore, Chinese residents face the tyranny of the Japanese invasion. Li Lian Goh becomes pregnant in a military brothel, and hopes to escape to a nearby village with her daughter, Maimunah.

A Pledge of Silence

Flora J. Solomon

Release Date: February 24, 2015

Margie, an army nurse, is sent to the Philippines before the Japanese invasion at the end of 1941. She is captured and taken to an interment camp, where she endures danger, starvation, and loss.


Salt to the Sea

Ruda Sepetys

Release Date: February 2, 2016

As WWII is ending in East Prussia, refugees are hurrying towards freedom. Joana, Emilia, and Florian meet on the ship Wilhelm Gustloff, upon which they face unexpected tragedy and are forced to fight to survive.

A God in Ruins

Kate Atkinson

Release Date: May 5, 2015

This story follows the challenging life of Teddy, a pilot in the Royal Air Force during WWII. He is one of the few pilots who survived the war, and he is forced to live in a future that he never expected he would experience.


The Book of Aron

Jim Shepard

Release Date: May 12, 2015

Aron is a young Jewish boy who was forced into the Warsaw Ghetto after the German invasion of Poland. His family is taken away from him, and he is rescued by a doctor who advocates for children’s rights. Is Aron able to escape and spread the word about the atrocities that he experienced?

The Nightingale

Kristin Hannah

Release Date: February 3, 2015

Set in France, this book gives the female perspective of WWII. The story focuses on two sisters who have been separated for years and have to do everything they can to survive.


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg