Books To Read If You Like True Crime

11 Dec 2019

Books To Read If You Like True Crime

Do you have a fascination with true crime and need some new recommendations for your reading list? You won’t want to miss these books from some of the biggest names in the genre. Dive into these intriguing stories from Kathryn McMaster, Gregg Olsen, Billy Jensen, Jan Stocklassa, Maureen Callahan, and Lena Derhally.


Kids who Kill: Austin Sigg

by Kathryn McMaster

Release Date: November 29, 2019

Ten-year-old Jessica Ridgeway went missing in 2012 on a snowy morning in Westminster, Colorado. She was abducted, raped, tortured, murdered and dismembered. But who was responsible? A criminal profile was created from the little evidence they found. They were looking for a male sex offender who has definitely killed before. Then a breakthrough occurs. A 17-year-old confessed but doesn’t match the profile. Is he actually the killer?

Buy on Amazon

If You Tell

by Gregg Olsen

Release Date: December 1, 2019

The new true crime story from the New York Times Bestselling Author, Gregg Olsen… The word mom triggers horrific memories for sisters Nikki, Sami, and Tori Knotek. For years, behind the closed doors of a farmhouse in Raymond, Washington, their mother, Shelly, subjected the girls to abuse, torture, and psychic terrors. Throughout everything, the three girls developed a defiant bond that helped them escape the escalating nightmare.

Buy on Amazon

Chase Darkness with Me

by Billy Jensen

Release Date: August 13, 2019

Journalist Billy Jensen spent fifteen years investigating unsolved murders. Every one of his stories had one thing in common–they never had an ending. The killer was never found. But after the sudden death of Michelle McNamara, the author of I’ll Be Gone in the Dark, he was fed up. He decided to start investigating beyond the point when the police had given up. He planned to start solving murders himself.

Buy on Amazon

The Man Who Played with Fire

by Jan Stocklassa

Release Date: October 1, 2019

When Stieg Larsson died, the author of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, he was working on something much more twisted than his Millenium novels. He was investigating the assassination of the Swedish prime minister, Olaf Palme, in 1986. In The Man Who Played with Fire, Jan Stocklassa picks up where Larsson left off and collects the pieces of this true-crime puzzle.

Buy on Amazon

American Predator

by Maureen Callahan

Release Date: July 2, 2019

Serial killers like Ted Bundy, John Wayne Gacy, and Jeffrey Dahmer are notorious in public consciousness. But most people haven’t heard of Israel Keyes, one of the most ambitious and terrifying serial killers in modern history. His behavior was unprecedented and he was described by prosecutors as “a force of pure evil”. Over a fourteen-year period, Keyes struck all over the United States. When journalist Maureen Callahan first heard about Israel Keyes in 2012, she was amazed at how a killer of this magnitude could go undetected for so long.

Buy on Amazon

My Daddy is a Hero

by Lena Derhally

Release Date: December 9, 2019

Everybody knew Chriss Watts as a family man, even his family. But on August 13, 2018, he murdered his pregnant wife and two young daughters. This story acts as a warning because, to this day, he lives behind bars and stills acts out the character traits that made him kill. In My Daddy is a Hero, psychotherapist Lena Derhally explores the Watts family murders and pieces together the crime and events leading up to it.

Buy on Amazon

share

grant