Books to Read if You Like Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

16 Jun 2016

If you don’t typically read young adult books, we dare you to give them a try. Many YA novels show a lot of depth of character and often address serious subject matters. One of the most well known YA books is Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson, which follows the healing process of a young girl who was raped in high school. Teens face just as many issues and questions while growing up as adults do, and YA literature can help shine a light on this turbulent time of life. If you’re interested in reading more young adult fiction, check out this list of books to read if you like Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.

Books to Read if You Like Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson


41dLNEvxCHL

The Future Unborn

Khristina Chess

Release Date: May 13, 2016

Kansas Jones is the picture of a perfect high school student. She’s a straight-A student, a swimmer on the varsity team, and a member of the teen robotics club. She has her eyes set on MIT, and she won’t stop working until she gets there. That is, until a wrench gets thrown into her plan. When Kansas finds out that she’s pregnant, she doesn’t know what she’s going to do. She has so many things to finish before graduating from high school, and she doesn’t have the time or money to plan for an abortion. All of a sudden, one of her family members loses a child, and Kansas thinks that she could give her baby away to them. Will she have the baby even if it might cost her MIT?

Buy on Amazon

 


514PNcQQBLL

The Love That Split the World

Emily Henry

Release Date: January 26, 2016

Natalie is enjoying her last summer at home until things start to get a little weird. Little things change at first, like the color of her front door and the location of things around town. When her whole town disappears for hours, Natalie knows that something is very wrong. At night, she sees visions of a woman she calls “Grandmother” who keeps telling her that she only has three months to save “him,” whoever that is. Then she meets Beau under the lights of the football field, and everything seems to stop.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

51u+vGjXsAL

The Lifeboat Clique

Kathy Parks

Release Date: March 1, 2016

One night, Denver sneaks into a Malibu beach party even though it may be dangerous. She was asked to go to the party by Croix, which she never thought would happen in a million years. All of a sudden, the party is hit by a tsunami and a group of the attendees escape on a small boat. Now Denver is stranded with some of the most popular, unbearable people in the world, and she doesn’t know how she’s going to survive.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook


51fBeBJMV8L

Anna and the Swallow Man

Gavriel Savit

Release Date: January 26, 2016

It’s 1939 in Krakow, and Anna Lania just had her father taken from her, leaving her alone and scared. She then meets the Swallow Man, who is mysterious, magical, and reminds her of her father. Anna and the Swallow Man travel together and become friends along the way. In order to survive, they have to dodge bombs and get away from cruel soldiers.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook BookBuy iBook

41zwvVOT8PL

Finding Audrey

Sophie Kinsella

Release Date: June 9, 2015

Audrey’s life has been ravaged by an anxiety disorder, which makes the smallest of tasks extremely difficult. She’s been working with Dr. Sarah to get better, and they’ve been making progress little by little every day. All of a sudden she meets her brother’s gaming teammate Linus, and she connects with him better than she’s ever connected with anyone else. As their friendship and romantic connection develops, it begins to help Audrey and her entire family.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

51VIUh0UKQL

Everything, Everything

Nicola Yoon

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Madeline has an extremely rare and famous disease that makes her allergic to basically everything. She hasn’t ever left her home, and she only ever sees her mom and her nurse. One day, a family moves in next door, and she finds herself entranced with the boy who is her age. From the moment she sees Olly, she knows that she’ll fall in love with him. And she most definitely knows that it will be a disaster.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg