Books to Read if You Like Post-Apocalyptic Thrillers

14 Sep 2016

The end is nigh. We may have made it through the year 2012 but apocalypses are still holding the attention of readers everywhere. Books like Cormac McCarthy’s The Road and Suzanne Collins The Hunger Games put humanity at the forefront and allow readers to contemplate how they would cope in dire straights. If you live for the thrill of nuclear events, dystopian governments and doomsday bunkers, check out our list of books to read if you like post-apocalyptic thrillers.

Books to Read if You Like Post-Apocalyptic Thrillers


 

Surrender the Sun

A.R. Shaw

Release Date: August 4, 2016

With a mini-ice age covering the globe, Maeve Tildon and her son Ben are barely keeping their head above water in their rural town of Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Nearby in the Kootenai National Forest, Bishop lives alone. A war-torn man, he long ago decided to avoid interacting with others. But when the first freeze strikes in the fall, Bishop may be the only one who can rescue Maeve and her son.

Buy on Amazon

 

State of Panic

Jack Hunt

Release Date: August 10, 2016

A malfunction with the U.S. anti-missile system that mistakingly fires upon Germany, plunges America back into war. When Germany retaliates, millions are killed and the electrical grid is destroyed. Now, officers from a wilderness correctional camp and their juvenile charges must work together to survive the darkness.

Buy on Amazon

 

Enduring the Crisis

K.D. Kinney

Release Date: August 8, 2016

Preparation can only take you so far. Tammy and Ben Powell have been preparing for a disaster for years with enough food and supplies for their family of 7. But when disaster really hits and Ben is separated from his family, will Tammy be able to handle the crisis on her own and will she be able to protect her five daughters?

Buy on Amazon

 

Unexpected World

Chris Pike

Release Date: June 1, 2016

Assistant District Attorney Dillon Stockdale is on the phone with his daughter when an EMP hits the United States, disabling anything that relies on a computer, including the plane she is on. Determined and terrified of her fate, he sets off to rescue her from Louisiana’s Atchafalaya Basin. Will he be able to find her? Is there anything to find?

Buy on Amazon

 

36 Hours

Bobby Akart

Release Date: July 23, 2016

A catastrophic solar flare is set to hit Earth in only 36 hours. The Rymans aren’t prepared in the slightest. Colton Ryman, his stay-at-home wife Madison and their teenage daughter Alex don’t have an emergency bunker or years of food stored in their basement. In fact, they had never even heard of preppers before suddenly it was a good thing to be one. When the world is panicking will one family be able to survive?

Buy on Amazon

 

Hell Divers

Nicholas Sansbury Smith

Release Date: July 19, 2016

Years in the future, the last of humanity live on massive airships circling the destroyed Earth in search of a habitable area. These ships are old and outdated and most have them have crashed back to Earth a long time ago but two ships still survive. The only thing keeping them in the air are Hell Divers: men and women who risk their lives to search for parts the ships desperately needs by diving to the surface. Now with one of the ships badly damaged in an electrical storm, one of these divers must enter the hostile zone called Hades. What they find there is worse than anyone could have ever imagined.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

grant