Books to Read if You Like Michael Crichton

27 Apr 2016

Michael Crichton is the author of numerous bestselling action, science fiction, and thriller novels. Many of these novels, including the popular Jurassic Park, have been turned into popular film adaptations. In his lifetime, Crichton was even involved with directing for movies and screenwriting for television. He is one of few people in history to have creative works charting at number one for film, TV, and book sales. If you love smart science fiction and action novels, then check out this list of books to read if you like Michael Crichton.

Books to Read if You Like Michael Crichton


B00ZNE44FK cover image

Sleeping Giants

Sylvain Neuval

Release Date: April 26, 2016

17 years ago, a girl named Rose fell through the earth into the palm of a giant metal hand. Now a highly trained physicist, she is leading a team to decipher a secret code that was found on the hand. Rose is aware that they are unraveling one of history’s most perplexing discoveries, but will this relic bring them peace or threaten to destroy the world?

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00R04IRHM cover image

Lightless

C.A. Higgins

Release Date: September 29, 2015

Onboard an experimental military spacecraft, Althea has developed an intense emotional bond with the ship’s electronic systems. She is forced to defend her precious machinery when rogue terrorists threaten to destroy it all. These intruders have hidden motives, and the most dangerous of them all will threaten to change Althea forever.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00Y6Q4IOI cover image

Version Control

Dexter Palmer

Release Date: February 23, 2016

Fighting through depression and tragedy, Rebecca Wright has finally figured her life out. However, everything around her seems slightly out of place, and she is completely unsettled. Her husband, Philip, has invented a “time traveling” sort of device that causes his coworkers to ridicule him. Together, they fight through their tragedies and struggles in a future that’s eerily similar to present day.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook


B00V34YJE0 cover image

Luna: New Moon

Ian McDonald

Release Date: September 22, 2015

Adriana, the leader of the Moon’s newest ruling corporation called the Corta Helio, is fighting to earn her family’s status. She’s made many enemies in her rise to power, so she and her five children must fight to defend their honor… and each other.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook BookBuy iBook

B00SI0B65W cover image

Planetfall

Emma Newman

Release Date: November 3, 2015

Lee Suh-Mi had a vision of a planet beyond earth that is devoid of overpopulation, pollution, and war. Reneta Ghali believed in this so strongly that she followed Suh-Mi into the unknown. Twenty two years after she left earth, they’ve established a colony at the base of an enigmatic alien structure. However, Ren has been harboring a secret since the first planetfall that could change the foundation of the colony forever.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00NRQOR26 cover image

The Water Knife

Paolo Bacigalupi

Release Date: October 13, 2015

Sometime in the near future, water is hard to come by around the west coast. As detective Angel Velasquez tries to hunt down a coveted water source, he comes across a hardheaded journalist and a Texas migrant who both dream of escaping the barren land in which they live. As they start to learn more, Angel begins to see that the corruption is far more severe than he thought.

Buy on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg