Books to Read if You Like Kate Atkinson

24 Nov 2016

Kat Atkinson is renowned for her wit, wisdom and subtle characterization. Her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, won the Whitebread (now Costa) Book of the Year Award and she has been producing critically acclaimed novels ever since like Life After Life and A God in Ruins. If you are a fan of historical accuracy, journeying to another time or just enjoy vivid imagery and scenery, check out these books to read if you like Kate Atkinson.

Books to Read if You Like Kate Atkinson


 past-darkly

Past, Darkly

Hunter S. Jones

Release Date: November 15, 2016

James van Lee was a lonely gypsy boy that was haunted by dreams. But this past helped him become one of the greatest rock stars in the world. Dr. Maggie Pickett has never loved anyone but Rhett Turnquest, but he is under the spell of Natasha. She holds secrets no one can ever find out. When James meets Maggie, which was unknowingly arranged by Rhett and Natasha, the complex story continues. The intriguing mix of characters travels from the Reconstruction South of 1873 to contemporary 2016 in a blend of historical fantasy, international locales and a little Victoriana.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook

 commonwealth

Commonwealth

Ann Patchett

Release Date: September 13, 2016

One action sets in motion a series of events that reverberates through the lives of four parents and their six children. With grace and emotionality, Patchett weaves a domestic tale spanning five decades shedding light on secrets, relationships and tragedies. The children of Franny Keating and Bert Cousins forge a lasting bond with a genuine affection growing from their shared disillusionment with their parents.

Buy on AmazonBuy NookBuy iBook

 every-morning

And Every Morning the Way Gets Longer and Longer

Frederik Backman

Release Date: November 1, 2016

The journey of an elderly man struggling to hold on to his cherished memories, while his family tries to care for him and come to terms with letting go. Frederik Backman uses the same charm that captured readers with A Man Called Ove, to help the reader understand human nature and feel deep compassion for people in tough circumstances.

Buy on AmazonBuy NookBuy iBook

 the-wayfarer

The Wayfarer

Jennifer L. Hayes

Release Date: June 18, 2016

Emma Clayton’s love life is passionless and predictable. That is until she moves from Los Angeles to a quaint English village with her fiance Ben. When a violent electrical storm transports her 160 years into the past, Emma is determined to find a way home, back to her fiance and the life mapped out for them. But when the captivating Lord Henry Drake, Son to the Earl of Pembroke, comes into the picture she is forced to choose between saving his life or returning to a life that seems so far away.

Buy on Amazon

 a-gentleman-in-moscow

A Gentleman in Moscow

Amor Towles

Release Date: September 6, 2016

In 1922, Count Alexander Rostov is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, and is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room while some of the most tumultuous decades in Russian history are unfolding outside the hotel’s doors. Unexpectedly, his reduced circumstances provide him entry into a much larger world of emotional discovery.

Buy on AmazonBuy NookBuy iBook

my-name-is-lucy-barton

My Name is Lucy Barton

Elizabeth Strout

Release Date: January 12, 2016

While recovering from what was meant to be a simple operation, Lucy Barton, gets a visti from her mother. After not speaking for years, this encounter lets the two reconnect over their shared memories and learn about each other’s lives, family and desires in the time they have spent apart. A tale about the love of a mother and daughter and how time can help heal wounds.

Buy on AmazonBuy NookBuy iBook


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

grant