Books to Read if You Like Historical Mysteries

30 Mar 2016

Sometimes, you just need to step back from the present and imagine what it would be like to live in a completely different era of history. Historical mysteries can both transport you to a different time AND keep you guessing what might happen next. If you’re a history buff who needs a bit of thrill added to your life, check out this list of books to read if you like historical mysteries.

Want even more book recommendations? Check out our list of books to read if you like historical suspense.

Books to Read if You Like Historical Mysteries


B00QP3ROVY cover image

A Lady in the Smoke

Karen Odden

Release Date: March 29, 2016

Elizabeth’s journey home to her country estate was interrupted by a freak train accident. She managed to pull herself and her mother out of the burning wreckage and is aided by Paul, a brilliant young surgeon. To everyone’s surprise, Paul knows that this “accident” may have not been so accidental. Elizabeth is taken on a wild investigation, helping her uncover a conspiracy that’s been years in the making.

Get on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00WS1PAPO cover image

The Forgotten Room

Karen White, Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig

Release Date: January 19, 2016

In 1945, Captain Cooper Ravenal arrives at a hospital in Manhattan critically injured and in need of assistance. When Dr. Kate Schuyler arrives to help, she is confronted by a mystery that involves three generation of women in her family and connects them to a Forgotten Room in a Gilded Age mansion. Will Kate be able to find the answers to all of these mysterious connections?

Get on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00LD1S3PY cover image

The Lake House

Kate Morton

Release Date: October 20, 2015

Years ago at her family’s estate, Alice Edevane’s brother, Theo, disappeared without a trace. Now Alice is living in London and working as a successful author, but the case has never been solved. Suddenly, young detective Sadie Sparrow discovers details about the case that reveal shocking truths from the past and bring her closer to Alice.

Get on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00QPHKR3M cover image

Girl Waits with Gun

Amy Stewart

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Constance Kopp doesn’t fit the mold of a typical early 20th century woman. She has no interest in domestic affairs and has been isolated from her family for years due to an event that sent her and her sisters into hiding. When a sheriff asks Constance to help convict the men who once wronged her, she has to face the demons of her past and step up to defend her family.

Get on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00QQ450BI cover image

The Book of Speculation

Erika Swyler

Release Date: June 23, 2015

Simon Watson is a librarian who lives alone in an old, dilapidated house. One day, a strange book arrives on his doorstep, and he realizes that it documents the drownings of circus “mermaids,” all of whom were women in his family. The drownings have always occurred on June 24, and Simon is worried that his younger sister will fall victim to this tragic curse.

Get on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

B00SI0B5F8 cover image

A Curious Beginning

Deanna Raybourn

Release Date: September 1, 2015

In 1887 London, the newly orphaned Veronica Speedwell just buried her old aunt. Now she is free to explore the world, conduct scientific research, and handle the occasional romantic encounter. No matter what she wants, however, fate may just have other plans for her. After a thrilling series of events, Veronica is forced to go on the run from an elusive assailant.

Get on Amazon Buy Nook Book Buy iBook

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg