Books To Read If You Like Historical Fiction | June 2019

12 Jun 2019

Books To Read If You Like Historical Fiction | June 2019

If you’re a fan of literary fiction and are after some new reads in a historical setting, we’ve got some great book recommendations for you! We’ve made a list of some enthralling new historical fiction books to read right now from Nejoud Al-Yagout, Jennifer Weiner, Melanie Benjamin, Elizabeth Gilbert, Sara Collins, and Lauren Willig. Enjoy!


When the Haboob Sings

by Nejoud Al-Yagout

Release Date: May 28, 2019

When Dunya Khair writes a controversial article in the newspaper and challenges the status quo, the response is swift. She now faces the dissolution of familial ties and the potential collapse of her marriage. Plus a looming nervous breakdown. Her actions are the perfect example of the strength and frailty of the human spirit. When the Haboob Sings tells the story of a woman with an unshakeable resolve that may cost her everything.

Buy on Amazon

Mrs. Everything

by Jennifer Weiner

Release Date: June 11, 2019

Bethie and Jo Kaufmann were born into a world full of promise. They grew up in a perfect 1950’s Detroit house and their roles in the family were clearly defined. Bethe is the pretty and feminine good girl who dreams of a traditional life. While Jo is a tomboy, a bookish rebel that wants to make the world fairer. But things end up looking very different from what they imagined.

Buy on Amazon

Mistress of the Ritz

by Melanie Benjamin

Release Date: May 21, 2019

Nothing bad could happen at the Ritz. Inside its gilded walls, everything was perfect. Guests like Ernest Hemingway, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Coco Chanel, and the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, have walked through its famous doors. All of these guests have been welcomed and pampered by Blanche Auzello and her husband, Claude, the hotel’s director. They are the mistress and master of the Ritz. They allow the glamour and glitz to distract them from their troubled marriage and the secrets they keep.

Buy on Amazon

City of Girls

by Elizabeth Gilbert

Release Date: June 4, 2019

The year is 1940 and nineteen-year-old Vivian Morris has just been kicked out Vassar College for her poor performance in her freshman year. He parents send her to live with her aunt in Manhattan. Her aunt owns the flamboyant but crumbling midtown theater called the Lily Playhouse. Here Vivian is introduced to an interesting array of characters. When she makes a mistake that turns into a professional scandal, her world turns upside down.

Buy on Amazon

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

by Sara Collins

Release Date: May 21, 2019

London is abuzz over a scandal involving Frannie Langton. She is accused of the double murder of her employers, renowned scientist George Benham and his wife Marguerite. Crowds pack the courtroom to follow every twist and turn of the case. The testimonies are damning but Frannie claims she cannot recall what happened that evening.

Buy on Amazon

The Summer Country

by Lauren Willig

Release Date: June 4, 2019

Barbados, 1984. Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan. As the daughter of the vicar, everyone knows the family’s shopping business will go to her cousin, Adam. But when her grandfather dies, she gets an unexpected surprise… she inherits his sugar plantation in Barbados. Something he never told anyone he owned.

Buy on Amazon

share

grant