Books To Read If You Like Historical Fiction | February 2020

19 Feb 2020

Books To Read If You Like Historical Fiction | February 2020

Have you been on the lookout for some inspiring new historical fiction novels for your library? You are in luck because we’ve made a list of some of our favorite new releases we think you’ll love. Get the latest from bestselling authors Gail Mencini, Rhys Bowen, Lizzie Page, Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Isabel Allende, and Juliet Blackwell. Happy reading!


It Happened in Tuscany

by Gail Mencini

Release Date: February 18, 2020

In 1945, Will Mills and his fellow soldiers in the 10th Mountain Division scaled Italy’s Riva Ridge in the frigid night to break through the German line of defense. After getting severely wounded, Will was rescued by Italian partisans and one of them, a beautiful girl, tended to his injuries until he could rejoin the troops. Now, seventy-five years later, Will and his thirty-two-year-old neighbor, Sophie Sparke, travel to Tuscany to find the partisan that saved his life.

Buy on Amazon

Above the Bay of Angels

by Rhys Bowen

Release Date: February 11, 2020

From the New York Times Bestselling Author of The Tuscan Child and The Victory Graden… Isabella Waverly just wanted to comfort the woman felled on a London street. In her final moments alive, she thursts a letter into Bella’s hand… An offer of employment in the kitchens of Buckingham Palace. It is everything a budding young chef could want.

Buy on Amazon

The Forgotten Girls

by Lizzie Page

Release Date: February 13, 2020

London 1943. German bombs are raining down on London but Elaine Parker knows her job transcribing letters from prisoners of war is more important than her own safety. As she pores over the letters from soldiers, she is not only making sure they reach their destination, she is looking for secret messages to help the allies win the war.

Buy on Amazon

The Mercies

by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Release Date: February 11, 2020

Finnmark, Norway, 1617. Maren Magnusdatter stands on the craggy coast, watching the sea break into a reckless storm. Forty fishermen, including her father and brother, are drowned and broken on the rocks below. Now that the men have been wiped out, the women of this tiny town must start fending for themselves.

Buy on Amazon

A Long Petal of the Sea

by Isabel Allende

Release Date: January 21, 2020

The new novel from the bestselling author of The House of the Spirits… In the late 1930s, civil war grips Spain. Hundreds of thousands of people are forced to flee over the mountains to the French border when General Franco and his Fascists succeed in overthrowing the government. Among those forced to flee is Roser, a pregnant young widow, who finds her life intertwined with Victor Dalmau, an army doctor and the brother of her deceased love.

Buy on Amazon

The Vineyards of Champagne

by Juliet Blackwell

Release Date: January 21, 2020

Below lush, rolling vineyards of the Champagne region lies an underground city of women and children. They were forced to take shelter from the unrelenting onslaught of German Shellfire above. These brave and defiant women venture out to pluck sweet grapes for the harvest. But wine is not the only secret preserved in these dark cellars.

Buy on Amazon

share

grant