Books To Read If You Like Historical Fiction | Fall 2017

14 Nov 2017

Are you looking for an enthralling new literary read that transports you through history? Do you want something that not only entertains you as a reader but lets you experience a different culture and time period? These latest Historical Fiction releases from bestselling authors like B.G. Cousins, Janet Fitch, Ken Follett, Isabel Allende, should be just what you are looking for!

Books To Read If You Like Historical Fiction | Fall 2017



The Great Celt

B.G. Cousins

Release Date: October 3, 2017

Muscovy 1460. Weary from years in combat, veteran mercenary Connor Rainey heads to the Land of the Rus in search of a new home. But what he finds is anything but peaceful. Ivan III has set in motion a plan to unite the fractured land but is surrounded by enemies. When Connor arrives he brings knowledge of new weapons and information of enemies to the west. After an assassination attempt on Ivan is foiled by Rainey, he is rewarded with the lands of a Boyar. Along with the boyar’s fiery daughter who is unwilling to surrender her birthright.

Buy on Amazon

The Revolution of Marina M.

Janet Fitch

Release Date: November 7, 2017

St. Petersburg, 1916. Marina Makarova aches to break free from her genteel life, a life which is about the be upended by the forces of history. Marina will join the marches for workers’ rights, fall in love with a radical young poet, and betray everything she holds dear, before being betrayed in turn.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

 

A Column of Fire

Ken Follett

Release Date: September 12, 2017

The Washington Post describes Ken Follett’s new novel as “Absorbing and impossible to resist.” A Column of Fire is the next installment in the International bestselling author’s epic saga set in the fictional town of Kingsbridge during the Middle Ages. Taking place during one of the most turbulent and revolutionary times in history, this novel is said to be one of Follett’s most exciting and ambitious works yet.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

In the Midst of Winter

Isabel Allende

Release Date: October 31, 2017

Isabel Allende returns with a new novel about three very different people who are brought together. It journeys from present-day Brooklyn to Guatemala in the recent past to 1970s Chile and Brazil. This novel explores timely issues of human rights and the plight of immigrants and refugees. According to Jonathan Yardley from The Washington Post, it embraces the cause of “humanity, and it does so with passion, humor, and wisdom that transcend politics”.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook


Estrid

Johanne Hilderbrandt

Release Date: October 17, 2017

Queen Sigrid just wants her children to fulfill their destiny. Her son, Olaf, is to become the heir to the Kingdom of Svealand. While her daughter, Estrid, is promised to Hel, the Norse goddess of death. But Olafs ascension is questioned and a battle for control ensues between Christian kingdoms and pagan clans.

Buy on Amazon


Mrs. Osmond

John Banville

Release Date: November 7, 2017

This new novel is from the Man Booker Prize-winning author of The Sea, and expands the story of Isabel Archer, the heroine from The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James. Banville’s novel expands on her story and takes her into unexpected territory.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

grant

Spend your time reading, not searching.

Sign up to get book recommendations you’ll love!

close forever