Books To Read If You Like Historical Biographies

16 May 2018

Books To Read If You Like Historical Biographies

History buffs and biography readers won’t want to miss these enthralling new release novels. From the Unlikely General of Anthony Wayne, to the Shadow Emperor Napoleon III, you will undoubtedly learn something new with this collection of intriguing individuals. We hope you enjoy our recommendations for new historical biography books.


Unlikely General

by Mary Stockwell

Release Date: April 24, 2018

In the spring of 1792, “Mad” Anthony Wayne was chosen by President George Washington to defend America from a potentially devastating threat from the native forces. The standing army had been decimated and Washington needed a champion to open the country stretching from the Ohio River to the Mississippi for settlement. Wayne was a spendthrift, womanizer and heavy drinker that had been ejected from Congress for voter fraud. However, this unlikely savior raised a new army and scored a decisive victory at the Battle of the Fallen.

Buy on Amazon

Three Days in Moscow

by Bret Baier

Release Date: May 15, 2018

Bret Baier, the bestselling author of Three Days in January, has just released his highly anticipated new book, Three Days in Moscow. Baier explores the dramatic endgame of America’s struggle with the Soviet Union and President Reagan’s role in shaping the world we live in today.

Buy on Amazon

An American Princess

by Annejet van der Zijl

Release Date: May 1, 2018

Allene Tew was born in a pioneering family in Upstate New York in the 1800s. She was beautiful, impetuous, and frustrated by the confines of her small town. At the age of eighteen, she met Tod Hostetter and had no idea the charmer she would impulsively marry was heir to one of the wealthiest families in the country.

Buy on Amazon

The Moralist

by Patricia O’Toole

Release Date: April 24, 2018

From Patricia O’Toole, the author of acclaimed biographies of Theodore Roosevelt and Henry Adams, comes a biography of one of the most high-minded, consequential, and controversial US presidents, Woodrow Wilson. It is a cautionary tale about the perils of vanity and American overreach in foreign affairs.

Buy on Amazon

The Road to Dawn

by Jared A. Brock

Release Date: May 15, 2018

After he escaped slavery, Josiah Henson improved the lives of hundreds of freedmen throughout his long life. He found international fame as the real “Uncle Tom” in the Harriet Beecher Stowe’s novel Uncle Tom’s Cabin, which fueled the abolitionist movement and ignited the Civil War.

Buy on Amazon

The Shadow Emperor

by Alan Strauss-Schom

Release Date: May 29, 2018

Alan Strauss-Schom is a Pulitzer Prize nominated historian and is considered one of the pre-eminent Napolean Bonaparte experts. He has turned hs sights on another in that dynasty, Napolean III, who was often overshadowed by his romanticized forebear. This is the first full biography of Napoleon III by an American historian.

Buy on Amazon

share

grant

Spend your time reading, not searching.

Sign up to get book recommendations you’ll love!

close forever