Books to Read if You Like Gilmore Girls

21 Mar 2016

Gilmore Girls is one of the most beloved shows that’s ever been on television. It has anything you could ever want in a show— incredibly witty dialogue, lovable characters, and drama that will drive you insane. Much like any other fan of the show, I’ve always imagined what it would be like to set foot in Stars Hollow. The town itself is beautiful, but the best part would be meeting all of the eccentric people who live there. Luckily, we will all get the chance to return to our favorite small town when Netflix finishes the four episode revival. If you’re like me and you’re impatiently waiting for the new episodes to be released, you can pick up one (or more) of these books to read if you like Gilmore Girls. Pair that with a couple cups of coffee, and you’d definitely make Lorelai and Rory proud.

Books to Read if You Like Gilmore Girls


Java Frost

Courtney Hunt

Price: $0.99

Release Date: January 5, 2016

If you loved Stars Hollow in Gilmore Girls, you’ll love the charm of Ashford Falls. Romance is in the air in this cozy town, and Amy is waiting patiently for the man of her dreams to appear. She meets Ben and his daughter Livvy as she works at the local Cupid’s Coffeeshop, and Ben quickly sees that she’s one of the few people who can make his quiet daughter laugh.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette

Maria Semple

Release Date: August 14, 2012

Just like Gilmore Girls, this book features smart and comical leading ladies. Bernadette Fox, a sharp-witted, opinionated woman who is loved by her family but loathed by other mothers in Seattle, goes missing. Her daughter, Bee, considers Bernadette to be her best friend, and in a comedic pursuit, she sets out to find her mess of a mother.


The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend

Katarina Bivald

Release Date: January 19, 2016

When Sara travels to Broken Wheel, Iowa to meet her long-time pen pal, she is bewildered to find that Amy has passed away. In an attempt to revive the destitute town that her book-loving friend once called home, Sara and the townspeople open a bookstore. This witty and heartwarming story is a great reminder of why we all love books so much.

At the Water’s Edge

Sara Gruen

Release Date: February 22, 2016

Although this book takes place over 70 years ago in a Scottish village, the quaint and close-knit town will definitely bring to mind memories of Stars Hollow. After disgracing themselves at a high society party, Maddie and her husband Ellis travel across the ocean to Scotland to prove themselves to Ellis’s father. Maddie is reluctant at first, but she soon falls in love with the beautiful village and develops close bonds with some of the women who live there.


The Bette Davis Club

Jane Lotter

Release Date: December 8, 2015

As Margo is sipping a cocktail the morning of her niece’s wedding and pondering her life mistakes, her niece runs away from the ceremony with an old family heirloom in hand. The bride’s mother sends Margo to find her spoiled brat of a daughter, which takes Margo and the disgruntled fiancé on a hilarious journey across the country.

My Name is Lucy Barton

Elizabeth Strout

Release Date: January 12, 2016

A huge part of Gilmore Girls was the close bond between Lorelai and Rory. Similarly, this book shows that mother-daughter relationships may not always be easy, but they are extremely powerful. After a Lucy endures a painful operation, her mother shows up out of the blue. They haven’t spoken in a while, so her arrival evokes strong memories in Lucy.


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

Sarah Pannenberg