Books To Read If You Like Fredrik Backman

27 Jun 2018

Books To Read If You Like Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is the New York Times Bestselling Author of incredibly popular literary fiction novels including A Man Called Ove, My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry, Bear Town and many more. If you’re a fan of these novels or are just looking for new additions to your literary reading list, we think you will find a new favorite among these books to read if you like Fredrik Backman!


The Spirit of Silk

by Catherine Macbeth

Release Date: April 18, 2018

This is the story of a woman who refused to conform… Su Yin and her best friend Lan Yee resisted marriage thanks to the financial independence of working at the silk factory. But after Lan Yee committed suicide in defiance of her parents’ insistence of being married, Su Yin takes a vow of celibacy according to the culture of the sisterhood, zishūnŭ. But soon she finds herself caught up in the Wall Street crash and a wave of women heading from South China to British Malaya. It is here that Liew, a young man from her past, turns up. Would she renege on her vow?

Buy on Amazon

Four Takeaways and a Funeral

by Kerrie Noor

Release Date: June 20, 2018

Mavis and Lumpy are getting married. They only want a small affair, with a few close friends, a celebrant on Skype, and a hot and spicy theme. They just want lots of food, great photos, and belly-dancing. But it turns out Mavis and Lumpy have very different ideas of what that means.

Buy on Amazon

Without a Country

by Ayse Kulin

Release Date: July 1, 2018

As the Hitler reign of terror over Germany begins, Gerhard and Elsa Shliemann must flee with the other German Jews in search of sanctuary. But life in other parts of Europe doesn’t offer the same kind of opportunities for medical professor Gerhard and his fellow scientists. But then they discover a haven in Turkey, where universities and hospitals welcome them.

Buy on Amazon

All We Ever Wanted

by Emily Giffin

Release Date: June 26, 2018

After marrying into Nashville’s elite, Nina Browning is living the good life. But sometimes the middle-class small-town girl in Nina wonders if she’s strayed too far from what she once was… Tom Volpe is a hard working single dad trying to raise his daughter, Lyla. It’s been a hard road, but he finally starts to relax when Lyla earns a scholarship to Windsor Academy, Nashville’s most prestigious private school.

Buy on Amazon

The Things We Don’t Say

by Ella Carey

Release Date: July 1, 2018

Renowned London artist, Patrick Adams painted his most famous work nearly sixty years ago. A portrait of his beloved Emma Temple. Years after his death, ninety-year0old Emma still has the painting hanging above her bed at their country home. For Emma’s granddaughter, the portrait is a symbol of so much to come.

Buy on Amazon

A Place for Us

by Fatima Farheen Mirza

Release Date: June 12, 2018

When a wedding forces a family back together, parents Rafiq and Layla must look at the choices their children have made. First, there is Hadia, the eldest daughter whose marriage was formed by love and not tradition. Huda, the middle child, who is determined to follow in her sister’s footsteps. And their estranged son, Amar, who has returned for the first time in three years to take his place as the brother of the bride.

Buy on Amazon

share

grant