Books To Read If You Like Elizabeth Strout

08 Jun 2017

Elizabeth Strout is a New York Times Bestselling Author of many successful literary novels, such as Anything is Possible, My Name is Lucy Barton, and Olive Kitteridge, for which she was also awarded the Pulitzer Prize. She has also been awarded prestigious honors such as the Permio Bancarella Prize, Art Seidenbaum Award and the O. Henry Prize. If you are a fan of literary fiction that tells a heartfelt story with a strong focus on family, then check out these books to read if you like Elizabeth Strout!

Books To Read If You Like Elizabeth Strout


Seven Birds

Amy Sargent Swank

Release Date: May 22, 2017

Fez is caught up in the turmoil of her own problems, so is oblivious to the struggles of her family members around her—and things are only getting more complicated. Fez, now fifty-two, never knew she had a sister—until one day, sixty-four-year-old Penny, has nowhere else to go and must move in with Fez and her teenage daughter, Hazel. But Penny hasn’t had to deal with change for a long time, and neither sister is sure how this new life will affect them. With her estranged husband living elsewhere, Fez is too distracted to notice the changes in Hazel, who has been falling into dangerous patterns of substance abuse.

Buy on Amazon

The First Word

Isley Robson

Release Date: June 1, 2017

To help her stay sane, Andie Tilly tries to keep her mind work. Being a pediatric occupational therapist is the perfect distraction from the unspeakable tragedy she experienced as a child. But when she meets alternative-energy magnate Rhys Griffiths and his autistic toddler, Will, she quickly realizes her heart will never be the same. Especially when her name becomes Will’s first word.

Buy on Amazon

 

Allie and Bea

Catherine Ryan Hyde

Release Date: May 23, 2017

Bea has barely been scraping by since her husband died. After falling for a scam, she loses everything and is forced to abandon her trailer. With only two-thirds of a tank in her old van, she heads toward the Pacific Ocean with her cat. She is on a mission to reclaim what’s rightfully hers, even if it means making others pay for what she lost.

Buy on Amazon

Saints for All Occasions

J. Courtney Sullivan

Release Date: May 9, 2017

Nora and Theresa Flynn are twenty-one and seventeen when they leave their small village in Ireland and journey to America. Nora is the responsible sister; she’s shy and serious and engaged to a man she isn’t sure that she loves. Theresa is gregarious; she is thrilled by their new life in Boston and besotted with the fashionable dresses and dance halls on Dudley Street. But when Theresa ends up pregnant, Nora is forced to come up with a plan—a decision with repercussions they are both far too young to understand.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook


Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Gail Honeyman

Release Date: May 9, 2017

Eleanor Oliphant struggles with appropriate social skills and often just says exactly what she’s thinking. Nothing is missing in her carefully timetabled life of avoiding social interactions. Her weekends are filled with frozen pizza, vodka, and phone calls with Mom. But everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the bumbling IT guy from her office.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

Before We Were Yours

Lisa Wingate

Release Date: June 6, 2017

Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a wonderful life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge–until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents–but they quickly realize the dark truth.

Buy on AmazonBuy Nook BookBuy iBook

Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books to read in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

grant

Spend your time reading, not searching.

Sign up to get book recommendations you’ll love!

close forever