Books To Read If You Like Barbara Kingsolver

10 Oct 2018

Books To Read If You Like Barbara Kingsolver

Barbara Kingsolver is a New York Times Bestselling Author of Literary Fiction. Some of her most popular books include The Poisonwood Bible, Fight Behavior, and The Lacuna. She has also been the recipient of numerous awards including the National Humanities Medal, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and the Orange Prize. If you’re looking for an intriguing new literary fiction read, check out these books to read if you like Barbara Kingsolver!


Motorbikes and Camels

by Nejoud Al-Yagout

Release Date: September 13, 2018

The debut novel from author Nejoud Al-Yagout, Motorbikes and Camels tells many diverse tales via a range of diverse characters. Selma who is facing a spiritual crisis. Hussam, the billionaire’s son trying to conceal his gay relationship. Mohammed, the bigamist grasping at patriarchal ideas. And Mike, who adopts cultural appropriation to provide a stable foundation for his collapsing world.

Buy on Amazon

Pushing the River

by Barbara Monier

Release Date: October 9, 2018

The third novel from bestselling author Barbara Monier… Madeline has been living alone for years. She describes her house as an empty shell inhabited by ghosts. She is surrounded by the possessions of her ex-husband and grown children. Over a period of four months, people start to accumulate in the household, including her new love interest.

Buy on Amazon

The Clockmaker’s Daughter

by Kate Morton

Release Date: October 9, 2018

In 1862, Edward Ratcliffe daughter a group of young artists to Birchwood Manor on the banks of the Upper Thames. They have plans to spend a month in seclusion in a haze of inspiration and creativity. But by the end of their stay, a woman has been found dead, another has disappeared, an heirloom is missing, and Edward’s life is in ruins.

Buy on Amazon

Gone So Long

by Andre Dubus III

Release Date: October 2, 2018

Forty years ago, a shocking act of violence from Daniel Ahearn lead to his daughter being ripped from his arm by the police. Now in her forties, Susan still suffers from the trauma of that night she can’t remember. She can’t feel settled, love a man or create anything that lasts.

Buy on Amazon

The Girl Made of Clay

by Nicole Meier

Release Date: September 25, 2018

When famous sculptor Thomas “TR” Harlow is badly injured in a fire, his daughter Sara must now care for the man who has always been more of a stranger than a parent. Once his muse, Sara lost her father long ago to his desire to live the life of a celebrity.

Buy on Amazon

Sea Prayer

by Khaled Hosseini

Release Date: September 18, 2018

From the New York Times Bestselling Author of The Kite Runner… Sea Prayer is presented in the form of a letter from a father to a son, on the eve of a journey. The father is watching over his sleeping son and reflects on the dangerous sea-crossing ahead of them. It also tells the story of their life in Syria before the war and the city’s transformation.

Buy on Amazon

share

grant

Spend your time reading, not searching.

Sign up to get book recommendations you’ll love!

close forever