Books To Read For Fans of Historical Fiction

01 Apr 2021

Books To Read For Fans of Historical Fiction

Looking to lose yourself in an intriguing new historical fiction novel? Don’t miss our latest reading list recommendations from authors V Bray, Jane Healey, Lisa Scottoline, Marion Kummerow, Martha Hall Kelly, and Madeline Martin. Enjoy your new books!


Babchi

by V Bray

Release Date: January 1, 2021

Katie’s beloved grandmother, the one who comforted her and wiped away every tear, has died. Without Babchi to care for and guide her, Katie feels alone. A story told in two voices, we follow Katie through her journey of grief parallel to her own Babchi’s journey decades ago when she was deported and held prisoner in a WWII Siberian labor camp. Follow both girls as they find hope in an uncertain future.

Buy on Amazon

The Secret Stealers

by Jane Healey

Release Date: April 1, 2021

Anna Cavanaugh is a restless young widow and brilliant French teacher at a private school in Washington, DC. Everything changes when she’s recruited into the Office of Strategic Services by family friend and legendary WWI hero Major General William Donovan.

Buy on Amazon

Eternal

by Lisa Scottoline

Release Date: March 23, 2021

Elisabetta, Marco, and Sandro grow up as the best of friends despite their differences. Elisabetta is a feisty beauty who dreams of becoming a novelist; Marco the brash and athletic son in a family of professional cyclists; and Sandro a Jewish mathematics prodigy, kind-hearted and thoughtful, the son of a lawyer and a doctor. Their friendship blossoms to love, with both Sandro and Marco hoping to win Elisabetta’s heart.

Buy on Amazon

Not Without My Sister

by Marion Kummerow

Release Date: March 25, 2021

After years of hiding from the Nazis, Rachel Epstein and her little sister Mindel are captured by the Gestapo and sent to the concentration camp at Bergen-Belsen. The only ray of light for either girl is that they are together. But on arrival they are separated. As she’s seventeen and deemed an adult, Rachel is sent to work in a brutal factory whilst four-year-old Mindel is sent into the so-called “star” camp for Jewish prisoners.

Buy on Amazon

Sunflower Sisters

by Martha Hall Kelly

Release Date: March 30, 2021

Georgeanna “Georgey” Woolsey isn’t meant for the world of lavish parties and the demure attitudes of women of her stature. So when war ignites the nation, Georgey follows her passion for nursing during a time when doctors considered women on the battlefront a bother. In proving them wrong, she and her sister Eliza venture from New York to Washington, D.C., to Gettysburg and witness the unparalleled horrors of slavery as they become involved in the war effort.

Buy on Amazon

The Last Bookshop in London

by Madeline Martin

Release Date: April 6, 2021

August 1939: London prepares for war as Hitler’s forces sweep across Europe. Grace Bennett has always dreamed of moving to the city, but the bunkers and blackout curtains that she finds on her arrival were not what she expected. And she certainly never imagined she’d wind up working at Primrose Hill, a dusty old bookshop nestled in the heart of London.

Buy on Amazon

share

grant