Books like Game of Thrones: New Reads for 2015

16 Oct 2015

I know, I know, the new Game of Thrones book isn’t the long awaited sequel. Whether that book will be released within George R.R. Martin’s lifetime (or even our own) is anyone’s guess. The new book still has value though. Given the rich history of Westeros, reliving the old myths and often referenced past events is a treat. Still, it does little to advance the plot of the story you’re most interested in. Understandable.

Perhaps you’re ready to read something else, even a whole series in the mean time.  You liked the Game of Thrones books, you don’t want to forget them. But you do want to find yourself in the magic of another realm. So we’ve compiled a list of new books like Game of Thrones. If you pace yourself, these books and their series might last you until the last A Song of Ice and Fire books.

New Books like Game of Thrones: What to Read for 2015


The Queen of Shadows

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Published: 9/1/2015

What makes this book like Game of Thrones: Royalty, espionage, warriors, epic journey, long book in a long series.

The Rule of Thieves

Author: C. Greenwood

Published: 9/23/2015

What makes this book like Game of Thrones: Betrayal, magic, alliances, assassination, long book in a long series.


The Void of Muirwood

Author: Jeff Wheeler

Published: 10/27/2015

What makes this book like Game of Thrones: Rebellion, royalty, large kingdoms, magic, growing forces of evil, long book in a long series.

The Death of Dulgath

Author: Michael J. Sullivan

Published: 10/15/2015

What makes this book like Game of Thrones: Assassination, royalty, mercenaries, ancient lands, large kingdoms, long book in a long series.


The Skull Throne Book 4

Author: Peter V. Brett

Published: 03/31/2015

What makes this book like Game of Thrones: magic, multiple perspectives, alliances, war, struggle for domination, long book in a long series.

Empire Ascendent: Worldbreaker Saga Book 2

Author: Kameron Hurley

Published: 10/6/2015

What makes this book like Game of Thrones: empires, war, royalty, destruction, intrigue, alliances, long book in a long series.


Sign up for our email and we’ll send you the best new books in your favorite genres weekly. 

share

grant